Risk People as at 23 July 2019

New Appointments

01 PFL People.jpg

CFS appoints executive manager of insurance, loses executive GM
Colonial First State (CFS) has appointed Baneesha Narang as its executive manager of insurance. Narang moves across from AIA Australia as the technical manager of group insurance. Lisa Elkins, executive general manager, is leaving CFS to join KPMG as the national sector leader for asset and wealth management.

NAB appoints new group CEO
Ross McEwan is to take over as group chief executive at National Australia Bank (NAB) no later than April 2020, moving from the Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS). McEwan is replacing Andrew Thorburn, who resigned in February.

MetLife makes key distribution appointments
John Ashton is the new head of retail product at MetLife Australia, a newly-created role, moving across from MLC Life as head of product. Ashton is to lead MetLife Protect. Dave Evans is a new strategic account manager in the Brisbane office, replacing Charlé Howard, who has moved into a senior client relationship manager role. Evans moves across from AMP.

SAFAA welcomes new CEO
The Stockbrokers and Financial Advisers Association (SAFAA) chief executive, Andrew Green, has signalled he will be stepping down. Replacing Green will be Judith Fox, the current Shareholders Association of Australia (ASA) CEO. Fox has been at the helm of ASA since early 2017, and prior to that was the national director of policy and advocacy at the Governance Institute of Australia for a decade. Fox has been a member on many committees and councils.

AFA welcomes GM of partnerships
Robert Coulter is joining the Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) as the general manager of partnerships. Coulter moves to the AFA from AMP Advice as head of corporate development.


NIBA award winners announced
The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has announced the Queensland winners of two broker awards: Lisa Carter (Clear Insurance) and Caitlin Carson (JLT). Carter won the Broker of the Year Award and Carson won the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award.

The Western Australian counterparts are John O’Leary (Zenith Insurance Services) as Broker of the Year, and Jordyn Gilbert (also Zenith Insurance Services) as Young Professional Broker of the Year.

In New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory Damien Coorey (CRM Brokers) took out the Broker of the Year Award, while Scott Hardiman (Bruce Chiene Insurance Brokers) won the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award.

All state winners compete in the national awards.