Risk People as at 28 May 2019

New Appointments

01 PFL People.jpg

Gov: new financial services minister appointed, changes to Treasury
Senator Jane Hume is the new assistant minister for superannuation, financial services and financial technology. Hume will be overseeing the financial services and superannuation sectors. Josh Frydenberg will retain his Treasury portfolio.


Suncorp loses CEO
Michael Cameron has resigned from the chief executive role at Suncorp after nearly four years. Steve Johnston, chief financial officer, will act in his place while a replacement is found, and Jeremy Robson, current deputy CFO, will act as group CFO.


AFA advice award nominations open
Nominations close on 7 June for the 2019 financial adviser awards run the Association of Financial Advisers (AFA). There are five awards, announced at the AFA Conference in Adelaide. Nominate yourself or someone else.

The five awards up for grabs include:

  • Adviser of the Year

  • Practice of the Year

  • Rising Star of the Year

  • Female Excellence in Advice

  • Excellence in Education

NIBA award winners, finalists announced
The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has announced some award winners.

  • Broker of the Year VIC/TAS - Avi Tatarka, Scott Winton Insurance Brokers

  • Young Professional Broker of the Year Award VIC/TAS - Nick Daffy, PNOinsurance

  • Young Professional Broker of the Year Finalists WA - Jordyn Gilbert, Zenith Insurance Services; Luke Juniper, Knightcorp Insurance Brokers; Jono Ross, Aviso WA Insurance Brokers

  • Broker of the Year Award Finalists NSW/ACT - Damien Coorey, CRM Brokers; Barry Sonter, Finsura; Anthony Scott, Watkins Taylor Stone