Fund People as at 18 April 2018

New Appointments

01 PFL People.jpg

Risk expert appointed by Willis Towers Watson
Jamie Jeffers has been appointed as divisional director of financial solutions at Willis Towers Watson, a newly-created role. Jeffers was previously associate director of insurance at Westpac.

General manager appointed by Westpac
Didier Van Not has been appointed as general manager of corporate and institutional banking at Westpac. Van Not was previously head of trade, assets, and structured finance at Westpac.

Mercer's responsible investment team expanded
Timothy Stamp has been appointed to Mercer’s global responsible investment team. Stamp was previously a senior consultant in KPMG's human rights and social impact team. Max Messervy has been appointed to Mercer’s US global responsible investment team, and Tomi Nummela has been appointed to Mercer’s UK global responsible investment team.

Board director appointed by Vision Super
Lisa Darmanin has been appointed as board director. Darmanin was previously executive president at Australian Services Union.

Lonsec group chief executive named
Charlie Haynes has been appointed as chief executive at Lonsec. Charlie Haynes is the co-founder and current director of Paragem.

ASIC names co-deputy chair
Daniel Crennan has been appointed as co-deputy chair at ASIC. Crennan is currently a barrister at the Victorian Bar.

Chief executive appointed by LGIAsuper
Kate Farrar has been appointed as chief executive of LGIAsuper. Farrar was previously senior implementation leader at McKinsey & Company.

AIST board director and president swap seats
Catherine Bolger has been appointed as president of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (AIST). Catherine Bolger was previously board director at AIST. David Smith has been appointed as board director of AIST. Smith was previously president of AIST.


Award night recognises insurance technology companies
The 2018 Fintech Business Awards, presented by Fintech Business in conjunction with Thomson Reuters, recognises innovation and entrepreneurship in the Australian financial technology sector. The winners of the 2018 Fintech Business Awards are:

  • Insurance Innovator of the Year – Cover Genius
  • Crowdfunding Innovator of the Year – OnMarket
  • Lending Innovator of the Year – SocietyOne
  • Personal Finance Innovator of the Year – Pocketbook
  • Payments Innovator of the Year – Afterpay Australia
  • Compliance Innovator of the Year – Moneycatcha
  • Software Innovator of the Year – BGL Corporate Solutions
  • Fintech Mentor of the Year – Peta Tilse, Sophisticated Access
  • Fintech Entrepreneur of the Year – Philip Copeland, Avoka
  • Investment Innovator of the Year – Acorns Australia
  • Fintech Thought Leader of the Year – Jonathon Wilkinson, Equitise
  • Accounting Innovator of the Year – Class Limited
  • Financial Advice Innovator of the Year - myprosperity
  • Lending Platform Innovator of the Year - Simpology
  • Investment Platform Innovator of the Year – Netwealth
  • FEMtech Leader of the Year – Katherine McConnell, Brighte
  • Fintech Start-Up Business of the Year – Link4 Australia
  • Fintech Business Excellence Award (Individual) – Katherine McConnell, Brighte
  • Fintech Business Excellence Award (Company) – Afterpay Australia


FASEA chief executive steps down
Deen Sanders, founding chief executive of the Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority (FASEA), has announced he will step down from his position.

BTFG general manager resigns
John Shuttleworth has retired from his role as general manager of platforms and investments at BT Financial Group. Shuttleworth has held this position since 2008.

Industry Super Australia chief executive steps down
David Whiteley has announced he will step down from his position as chief executive of Industry Super Australia after 12 years.