Risk People as at 27 June 2017

New Appointments

MLC appoints chief claims officer
MLC Life Insurance has appointed Natalie Cameron as its new chief claims officer. Cameron is the former chief executive of AIA New Zealand and former chief group insurance officer of AIA Australia. 

AIA restructures executive team
After an executive restructure, AIA Australia has announced the following appointments:

  • Harry Efthimiou, newly-created role of chief health insurance officer
  • Tim Tez, chief strategy officer for Australia and New Zealand
  • Michael Chernov, chief financial officer for Australia and New Zealand

ANZ announces chief underwriter
ANZ Wealth has appointed Peter Tilocca as chief underwriter for its OnePath life insurance business. Tilocca was acting chief underwriter following John Leonards retirement in March.

SCOR appoints heads for Australian office
SCOR Global Life Australia has announced Debra Pitcher as chief underwriter and head of underwriting policy. John Cummins has been appointed chief medical officer.

AFA executive appointed to standards board
Senior leader of the Association of Financial Advisers (AFA), Nick Hakes, has been appointed vice chairman of the Asia Pacific Financial Services Association's International Certifications and Standards Board. 


Risk Adviser announces Women in Finance Awards
Risk Adviser, partnering with NAB, has announced its new awards program for women working in finance. This awards program has a total of 28 awards to recognise big and small businesses and individuals including executives, financial advisers, accountants, investment managers and mortgage brokers, public relations, human resources, and marketing professionals. The awards will recognise inspirational industry leaders and the rising stars of tomorrow. 

Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award winner announced
Brisbane-based Bronnie Abraham won the 2017 Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award for being the top performing student in the final unit of the Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) Certified Financial Planner (CFP) program. Abraham will receive a $1,000 prize funded by the FPA.