Fund People as at 12 March 2019

New Appointments

01 PFL People.jpg

Saxo Capital Markets welcomes new CEO
Adam Smith is the new chief executive at Saxo’s Australian operations, moving from OFX as chief operating officer. Smith replaces Ben Smoker, who was in the role for three years.

Midwinter appoints new CEO
After seven years in a director role at Ernst & Young, Jeffrey Hall is now chief executive at Midwinter, a large advice technology provider.

LUCRF Super board changes
LUCRF Super has made a few rearrangements to its board:

  • Joseph Di Leo - chair

  • Tim Kennedy, former chair - deputy chair

AMP Capital Multi-Asset Group CIO appointment
Debbie Alliston has been announced as chief investment officer at AMP Capital’s Multi-Asset Group, while continuing oversight of the Future Directions and AMP Lifecycle portfolio management.

Blue Sky appoints new CEO
Joel Cann is the new Blue Sky Alternative Investments chief executive, from April 15. Cann was most recently at JP Morgan and Aberdeen Asset Management.

GESB Superannuation appoints new GM of investments
Paul Taylor is the new general manager of investments at GESB Superannuation, moving from Willis Towers Watson as head of asset consulting, a role as yet unfilled. Taylor replaces Ben Palmer, who is now the chief executive.

APRA appoints GM of superannuation
Suzanne Smith is the new general manager of superannuation for the specialised institutions division at APRA. Smith moves from chief customer officer of group insurance at MLC Life Insurance.

Equity Trustees appoints new deputy chair
Jim Minto is the new deputy chair at Equity Trustees, after being appointed to the board in 2017. Minto is also a member on the risk committee and audit committee.


CBA Group Super CEO retiring
Doug Carmichael is retiring in June after nine years leading the Commonwealth Bank Group Super fund. A replacement is being sought.

Tasplan CIO resigns
Ian Lundy has resigned from his position as chief investment officer at Tasplan after two years. Lundy is being replaced by Trish Donohue, who has been on the Tasplan board as a non-executive director since late 2018.