Fund People as at 16 August 2016

New Appointments

BTIM appoints two new analysts for global equities boutique
Paul Wong and Lachlan Crompton are to join the Australian-based global equities boutique, BT Investment Management (BTIM). Wong moves across from UBS, while Crompton joins from Investa Property Group. 

Legg Mason appoints Australian head
Legg Mason has appointed Andy Sowerby to the role of head of Australia. Sowerby moves across from Martin Currie as director of sales, marketing and client service. 

Infocus appoints new non-executive director
Infocus Wealth Management has appointed Roy McKelvie as a non-executive director and chair-elect. McKelvie is the current chair of Encompass Corporation, Condor Energy Services, and the investment board of AMB Capital Partners. He is a non-executive director at Coolabah Capital Investments and is a member of the Enlighten Operational Excellence advisory board. 

EISS appoints new CEO
After Jon Holbrook's departure in July, South Australia's Electricity Industry Superannuation Scheme (EISS) has appointed Nic Szuster as chief executive. Szuster moves into the role from Super Benefits Administration. Holbrook has left financial services, and is now training to be an early childhood worker. 

AZ NGA appoints financial planning GM
AZ Next Generation Advisory (AZ NGA) has appointed Adrian Ashton as its new general manager of financial planning. Ashton moves to AZ NGA from Financial Keys as a financial adviser. 

BNPP IP appoints head of financial advice
BNP Paribas Investment Partners has appointed James Langlands as head of its advice arm for Australia and New Zealand. Langlands moves across from BlackRock. 

ANZ appoints chief economist
Richard Yetsenga is ANZ's new chief economist after acting in the position temporarily after Warren Hogan left. Yetsenga has worked at ANZ since 2011. 

Perpetual announces internal appointments
Perpetual has promoted Vicki Riggio to general manager of management services, from her role as head of wholesale trustee. Riggio is to be replaced by Phillip Blackmore, who has worked with Perpetual's risk team for nine years. 

AMP Capital appoints new chair
Vanessa Wallace is the new chair of the AMP Capital board, replacing Brian Clark, who is retiring. Wallace is a non-executive director at AMP Limited and Wesfarmers. 


BTFG loses its head of alternatives
Chris Thompson has left BT Financial Group where he was head of alternatives for BT Investment Solutions, managing the Advance Multi-Manager funds and Westpac's staff superannuation scheme. 

Westpac COO moving on, executive reshuffle
Westpac's chief operating officer, John Arthur, is retiring after eight years in the role. An executive reshuffle is now taking place, with the following changes from 1 October:

  • Rebecca Lim, legal counsel, has joined the executive team;
  • Gary Thursby has been promoted to group executive, strategy, transformation and business services; and 
  • George Frazis, chief executive of consumer banking, is to take on responsibility for contact centres. 

First State Super loses CIO
Richard Brandweiner is leaving First State Super to move to a new role at LeapFrog Investments, a global impact investment company. Damian Graham, head of the investment team since 2012, will replace him. 


2016 SMSF Award winners announced

  1. SMSF Administrator - Superfund Wholesale
  2. SMSF Document Provider - Heffron
  3. Audit Provider - ASF Audits
  4. Actuarial Certificate - Act2 Solutions
  5. SMSF Software Provider - Class
  6. ETF Provider - Vanguard
  7. Fixed Income Provider - Vanguard
  8. Investment Platform Provider - CommSec Adviser Services
  9. Equities Provider - Perpetual
  10. Global Equities Fund - Magellan
  11. SMSF Insurance Provider - AIA Australia
  12. SMSF Loan Provider - Bank of Queensland
  13. Cash and Term Deposit Accounts - Macquarie
  14. Cash and Term Deposit Platform - Australian Money Market

2016 FEAL Fund Executive of the Year Award
VicSuper's chief executive Michael Dundon has been awarded the Fund Executive of the Year Award by the Fund Executive Association Limited (FEAL). The prize is a $25,000 executive education grant courtesy of AMP Capital.