Risk People as at 9 July 2019


01 PFL People.jpg

Ron Grima passes away
Industry veteran Ron Grima has sadly passed away as a result of motor neurone disease. Ron spent over three decades in the financial sector, and has been serving financial advisers in many roles over the years. The industry has benefited a great deal from Ron’s input and efforts. He is survived by his wife and two children.


ANZIIF announces finalists for Australian Insurance Industry Awards
The Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) announced the finalists for 2019’s Australian Insurance Industry Awards, with the winners announced 22 August 2019. The finalists in each category are:

  • Small-medium broking company: BAC Insurance Brokers, Warren Saunders Insurance Brokers, Zenith Insurance Services

  • Large broking company: Aon, Marsh, MGA Insurance Group

  • Underwriting agency: CHU Underwriting Agencies, Club Marine Insurance, Emergence Insurance, GT Insurance, SURA Film & Entertainment

  • Direct general insurance company: Achmea, Lawcover, NRMA Insurance, Westpac General Insurance

  • Small-medium general insurance company: Berkley Insurance Australia, RACT Insurance

  • Large general insurance company: Allianz Australia, CGU, Hollard Insurance, QBE, Zurich

  • Life insurance company: AIA Australia, BT, MetLife Australia, MLC Life Insurance

  • Insurtech program: Allianz Australia, CancerAid, Gallagher Bassett, MetLife Australia

  • Professional services firm: Barry Nilsson, Hall & Wilcox, MinterEllison, Sedgwick, TurksLegal, Wotton + Kearney

  • Service provider: CoreLogic Australia, DXC Technology, Independent Validation Advisory Australia, NJM Corporate Risk Services, Phenix Jewellery

  • Excellence in workplace diversity and inclusion: AIG Australia, CHU Underwriting Services, Genworth Financial Mortgage Insurance, Hollard Insurance, MetLife Australia, TAL

  • Insurance learning program: icare, QBE Insurance, Sedgwick, Suncorp

  • Young insurance professional: John Deane (Gallagher Bassett), Scott Duncan (Taylor Fry), Christopher McAuliffe (Sedgwick), Matthew McHutchison (Independent Validation Advisory Australia), Linh Nguyen (Sedgwick), Jillian Pancott (Sedgwick), Ananya Tiwari (Proclaim), Andrew Walsh (Sedgwick).