Fund People as at 20 June 2019

New Appointments

01 PFL People.jpg

Statewide Super promotes senior staff
Lisa Palmer, former head of financial planning at Statewide Super, is now the general manager of distribution and advice, one of a host of new appointments put in place by new CEO Tony D’Alessandro. D’Alessandro was appointed in March.

Former head of marketing, Nicole Kinnear, is moving into the role of general manager of marketing and member engagement. Kristyn Verrall is now overseeing organisational strategy, along with being general counsel and company secretary.

Russell hires head of wholesale partnerships
Neil Rogan is the new head of wholesale partnerships at Russell Investments, moving across from Gowing Bros, a wholesale funds manager.

LUCRF Super appoints CRO and company secretary
Alison Anthony has been appointed as LUCRF Super’s chief risk officer and company secretary. Anthony moves to the industry super fund from ESSSuper as general manager of governance and product for over four years.


Challenger funds management CEO resigns
Ian Saines, Challenger’s funds management business chief executive, is to leave the company later in 2019. A replacement is being sought.

UBS deputy head of research moves on
James Coghill, UBS deputy head of research, is moving on from the company after nearly a decade. Ben Gilbert, consumer analyst, is his replacement. Gilbert has been with UBS since his internship in 2004.


2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours include financial services veterans

  • Emmanuel (Manny) Pohl, ECP Asset Management - service to the finance sector and the community

  • Kathryn Fagg, Reserve Bank board, services to business and finance, central banking, logistics and manufacturing sectors, and work elevating women

  • Carol Schwartz, Reserve Bank board, support of women in leadership roles and advocate for social justice

  • Diane Smith-Gander, Wesfarmers and AGL Energy boards, history in banking, service to women’s engagement in executive roles and gender equality

  • Peggy O’Neal, Richmond Football Club president, service to superannuation and finance law, advancement of women in leadership roles

  • Arun Abey, founding director of ipac, Walsh Bay Partners chair, The Smith Family director and chair, honoured for significant service to the financial planning sector and the community

  • Paul Jevtovic, HSBC’s head of crime threat mitigation, service to financial crime enforcement and regulation

  • Nixon Apple, AustralianSuper alternate director, service to the superannuation sector and trade unions

  • Helen Hewett, SuperFriend founder, Order of Australia, industry superannuation fund suicide prevention and support of mental illness education

  • Greg O’Neill, La Trobe Financial, service to basketball and business

  • Nicola Forrest, Minderoo Foundation, philanthropic support of education and arts, service to business