Risk People as at 21 March 2017

New Appointments

AFA appoints new CEO
The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) has announced chief executive Brad Fox will step down after four years, with Philip Kewin the new CEO. Fox will continue on in a consultancy role. 

Zurich continues new hires
Zurich has appointed three new executives to its underwriting team: Mary Sinclair-Porter (from Macquarie Life), Dr Matthew Paul (from Macquarie Life) and Tony Baker (former financial underwriting and claims manager). Matthew Apps is the new national underwriting manager, distribution. 


AFA/Strategic Insight Life Company of the Year Awards
Thirteen awards were handed out at the black-tie event held in Sydney. 

Product Awards

Platinum Award – 2016 Life Company of the Year
Winner: BT Financial Group
Finalists: TAL, MLC, OnePath

Service Quality Award
Winner: TAL
Finalists: Zurich, AIA Australia, BT Financial Group

Term/TPD Award
Winner: OnePath – OneCare Life Cover Plan
Finalists: AMP Elevate – Life Insurance Plan, Asteron – Life Cover Plan

Trauma Award
Winner: OnePath – Trauma Premier Plan
Finalists: TAL – Critical Illness Premier Plan, CommInsure – Total Care Trauma Plan, AMP Financial Services – Trauma Optimum Plan

Income Protection Award
Winner: BT – Income Protection Plus Plan
Finalists: AMP Elevate – Income Insurance Premier Plan, TAL – Income Protection Premier Plan

Risk Product Innovation Award
Winner: CommInsure – Back to Wellness Program
Finalists: AIA Adviser Logic, Zurich Curriculum for Adviser Training

Investment Bond Award
Winner: CommInsure
Finalists: IOOF, Australian Unity

Overall Annuity Provider of the Year
Winner: Challenger
Finalists: CommInsure

Long Term Income Stream Award
Winner: Challenger
Finalists: CommInsure

Annuity & Income Stream Innovation Award
Winner: CommInsure – Death Benefit Guarantee

Client Service Team Awards

Underwriting and New Business Team of the Year
Winner: Zurich
Finalists: Asteron Life, BT Financial Group

Claims Team of the Year
Winner: BT Financial Group
Finalists: One Path, Zurich

BDM/Business Support Services Team of the Year
Winner: Zurich
Finalists: AMP, TAL