Fund People as at 3 November 2017

New Appointments

01 PFL People.jpg

Macquarie appoints new director
Former governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia, Glenn Stevens, has been appointed as an independent director of Macquarie Group and Macquarie Bank, as of 1 November. Stevens served as governor between 2006 and 2016.

Portfolio manager appointed to Spaceship
Jason Sedawie has been appointed as portfolio manager at Spaceship. Sedawie was most recently a portfolio manager at Decisive Asset Management. 

Financial officer appointed to LUCRF Super
Former Hostplus executive, Therese Kenny, has been appointed as financial officer at LUCRF Super. Kenny was most recently group executive of finance and investment operations at Hostplus.

MD appointed by Franklin Templeton
Matthew Harrison has been named managing director at Franklin Templeton. Harrison was previously general manager of distribution at Colonial First State.

New ASIC chair named
James Shipton has been named as the new chair of ASIC. Shipton will start his five-year role in February, and is currently executive director of Harvard Law School’s international financial systems program.

Inaugural chief executive appointed by ACSA
Robert Brown has been named as the Australian Custodial Services Association’s (ACSA) inaugural chief executive. Brown most recently served as managing director of Alford Brown and Associates.  

Fiducian executive chair transition
Managing director of Fiducian, Indy Singh, will begin to gradually transition to an executive chair over the next three years. Singh has served as managing director since establishing the company in 1996.

VanEck expands development team
Julian Moore has been appointed to VanEck Australia’s business development team. VanEck will also be appointing to its business development team from JBWere and Bell Potter Securities.

UniSuper builds on equities team
Matt Spence has been appointed to UniSuper’s equities team as a senior analyst for infrastructure. Andrew Hill has been appointed as senior analyst of financials at UniSuper’s equity team. Spence was previously head of infrastructure, utilities and transport research at Bank of America Merrill Lynch, while Hill was previously working at Bank of America Merrill Lynch where he worked in Australian bank research.


Finalist announced for SelectingSuper Awards
The finalists for the Rainmaker SelectingSuper 2017 Awards have been announced. The awards highlight Australia’s top superannuation providers and industry leaders. The finalists for this year are:

Fund of the Year

  • Cbus
  • IOOF
  • UniSuper
  • Sunsuper
  • Hostplus
  • AustralianSuper

SMSF Administrator of the Year

  • Heffron
  • BT Panorama
  • SuperGuardian
  • AMP SMSF Solution

Asset Consultant of the Year

  • Mercer
  • Willis Towers Watson
  • Frontier Advisors
  • JANA

Investment Innovation and Leadership Award

  • Cbus
  • Hostplus
  • AustralianSuper
  • Telstra Super

Innovation Awards – Millennial Super Product of the Year

  • AustSafe Super Industry Super
  • Hostplus
  • AustralianSuper
  • REST Super
  • Sunsuper for Life – Super-Savings Account
  • Essential Super – Employer

Superannuation Group Insurance Award

  • legalsuper, OnePath Life
  • IAG & NRMA Superannuation Plan, MLC Limited
  • Equip MyFuture, Hannover Life Re
  • Sunsuper for Life Business, AIA Australia
  • Intrust Super – Core Super, Hannover Life Re

Long Term Performance Award

  • Catholic Super
  • AustralianSuper
  • UniSuper
  • Hostplus
  • Cbus Industry Super
  • CareSuper

Retirement Full service Multichoice Product of the Year

  • IOOF Employer Super – Pension
  • MLC MasterKey Pension Fundamentals
  • AMG Pension
  • Perpetual WealthFocus Pension Plan
  • Aon Master Trust Pension – Essentials
  • Fiducian Account Based Pension

Personal Full service Multichoice Product of the Year

  • IOOF Employer Super – Personal
  • ANZ Smart Choice Super – Personal
  • MLC MasterKey Super Fundamentals
  • AMG Personal Super
  • Colonial First State – FirstChoice Personal Super
  • BT Lifetime Super Personal Plan

Workplace Full Service Multichoice Product of the Year

  • Media Super
  • Employer Super
  • IOOF Employer Super – Employer
  • AMP SignitureSuper
  • Colonial First State – FirstChoice
  • ANZ Smart Choice Super – Employer
  • Mercer Super Trust – Corporate Super Division

Retirement Select Choice Product of the Year

  • Cbus Super Income Stream
  • UniSuper Pension
  • AustralianSuper Choice Income
  • Energy Super Income Stream
  • TelstraSuper RetireAccess
  • BUSSQ Pension Choice

Personal Select Choice Product of the Year

  • BUSSQ Premium Choice
  • HESTA Personal Super
  • Cbus Personal Super
  • MyLife MySuper Personal Plan
  • AustralianSuper Personal Plan
  • Equip MyFuture Personal

Workplace Select Choice Product of the Year

  • Hostplus
  • UniSuper
  • Energy Super
  • Sunsuper for Life
  • BUSSQ MySuper
  • Intrust Super – Core Super

MySuper Lifestage Product of the Year

  • AMP SignatureSuper
  • Sunsuper for Life
  • Telstra Super Corporate Plus
  • First State Super – Employer Sponsored
  • QSuper Accumulation Account
  • LGS Accumulation Scheme
  • LGIAsuper Accumulation

MySuper Product of the Year

  • Hostplus
  • UniSuper
  • CareSuper
  • AustralianSuper
  • Energy Super
  • Intrust Super – Core Super

The awards will be held in Melbourne on 16 November 2017.


Contango chief departs
George Boubouras has stepped down from his position as managing director and chief investment officer of Contango Asset Management (CGA).