Risk People as at 10 November 2016

New Appointments

MLC expands group insurance team
MLC Life Insurance has appointed five new members to the group insurance team. 

  1. Michael Shagrin - senior relationship manager corporate and industry funds
  2. Jenny Lui - pricing manager
  3. Megan Clements - strategic product manager
  4. Sean Potter - senior relationship manager
  5. Matt Lang - senior manager transformation

Zurich appoints a new non-executive director
Zurich has appointed Susan Roberts to the board of Zurich Australian Superannuation (ZAS) board. Roberts is the former chief executive at Lazard Asset Management, is a current chair of the investor working group 30% Club Australia. Roberts replaces Catherine Osborne, who held the position for nine years. 


Strategic Insight (Plan For Life) DIrect Life Insurance Awards
NobleOak Life has been announced as the overall winner in the Direct Life Insurance Excellence Awards for 2016. (See the full media release and finalists list here.)

  • Overall Excellence Award - Winner: NobleOak Life
  • Winner: Suncorp Life – Life Protect
  • TPD - Winner: NobleOak Life – Premium Life Direct (TPD Option Rider)
  • Trauma – Stand Alone - Winner: OnePath Life – ANZ Recover Well
  • Trauma – Rider - Winner: NobleOak Life – Premium Life Protect (Trauma Option Rider with Life)
  • Accident Cover - Winner: ANZ OnePath Life –  ANZ Accidental Cover Plus
  • Income Protection - Winner: TAL Life – Insurance Line Income Protection Plus, Rate Saver
  • Funeral Cover Level Premiums - Winner: TAL Life – NRMA Funeral Insurance
  • Consumer Credit - Winner: CommInsure – Credit Card Plus
  • Customer Service - Winner: TAL Life
  • Customer Service (Marketer) - Winner: Zurich Financial Services – American Express Ezicover Life
  • Innovation - Winner: Suncorp Life – Interactive Calculator
  • Omnibus Product - Winner: TAL Life – TAL Lifetime Protection
  • Health & Wellness Program - Winner: AIA Australia – AIA Vitality

FPA Awards
The Financial Planning Association (FPA) has shortlisted for all six categories in the 2016 FPA Awards. 

FPA Certified Financial Planner Professional of the Year Award

  • William Johns, Health & Finance Integrated
  • Tony Sandercook, wetalkmoney
  • David Sharpe, Globe Financial Planning

FPA Financial Planner AFP of the Year Award

  • Cody Harmon, Meridian Wealth Management
  • Tim McLaughlan, Elston Private Wealth
  • Paul Turner, Wealthwise

FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award

  • Cynthia Sercombe, Tupicoffs
  • Shayne Sommer, Shadforth Financial Group

Future2 Community Service Award

  • Kathy Havers, Catalyst Financial Group
  • William Johns, Health & Finance Integrated

FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award

  • Capital Partners, West Perth (WA)
  • Enlightened Financial Solutions, Mackay (QLD)
  • ipac West Australia, Subiaco (WA)

FPA University Student of the Year Award

  • Hilary Acheson, University of New England
  • Bradley Aleckson, Griffith University
  • James Van Zyl-Cunningham, Griffith University